Skype is a popular video and voice calling app. For many users, Skype is a useful tool for keeping in touch with friends and family. However, some users want to get rid of the app and not delete their Microsoft account. If you want to get rid of Skype and not delete your Microsoft account, you can do so using the following steps:
Microsoft has been trying to change the world for a long time. Their products and services have improved our personal and professional lives, but their initial product vision was cloud-based and mobile-only. This meant that users would need to keep their Skype and Outlook.com accounts separate, and use separate logins for each one. This caused a lot of confusion and frustration for users. Today, Microsoft is making it easier to close your Microsoft Account and your Skype Account, and make one login for both services. This will allow you to sign in with your Microsoft Account and your Skype Account and use them together.
If you are reading this, it is most likely because you are looking to delete your Skype account. We are going to give you tools to help you do that.
Do you think it’s simple to delete or cancel your Skype account? Microsoft, however, does not enable you to do so. While you may be irritated that you do not have complete control over what you do with your account, it is also a smart method to prevent account termination or hacking by mistake. Microsoft also linked your Skype account to your Microsoft account at the same time. You can’t just disconnect or unlink your Skype account from your Microsoft account. To summarize, you can’t cancel your Skype account without also deleting your Microsoft account and data.
Permanent account cancellation is a serious matter that should not be handled lightly. Before you attempt to cancel or erase your Skype account permanently, be sure it is what you need right now. When others abuse them through Skype, some users opt to cancel their Skype account. You may also need to cancel your existing Skype account and create a new one, or utilize another video conferencing provider for your meetings.
What Does Deactivating, Deleting, or Closing Your Skype Messenger Account Mean?
Before you proceed with the instructions on how to deactivate your Skype account, keep the following points in mind. If you delete your account, all data associated with it will be lost. All chat messages, video calls, and audio call records will be lost as a result. It will also delete the contact list and history.
When you cancel your Skype account, you’ll also need to remove your Microsoft account, which means you’ll be losing other Microsoft services as well. You won’t be able to access your OneDrive, Xbox Live, Microsoft purchases, or other services any more.
What if you decide to change your mind? Microsoft, fortunately, offers you a period of opportunity to reconsider your choice. You still have 60 days to recover your Microsoft account if you accidentally deleted it. You may return to your account in the same state as before. However, after the 60-day waiting time has passed, you will no longer be able to apply for closure cancellation. Your account will not be recoverable by Microsoft.
How to Permanently Delete Your Skype Account on a Mobile or Computer Using Your Microsoft Account
Windows Dispatch is the source of this image.
If you still want to permanently shut and delete your Skype account, the procedures are simple. However, before you remove your Microsoft account, you must first prepare all of your data under it. Save any files or information from other Microsoft services that you wish to save. Take a snapshot of your Skype conversations and search your OneDrive for items to download to your local drive. Here are the deleting steps if you’re ready to go. Your iPhone, iPad, or Android mobile app, as well as the Mac or Windows 10 desktop software settings, may be used to cancel your Skype account. Users may also deactivate their accounts via the Skype or Microsoft websites.
Windows Dispatch is the source of this image.
- On your Windows 10 or Mac computer, as well as your iOS or Android mobile device, launch the Skype app.
- Click your Skype name in the top left corner.
- Make a selection of options.
- On the right side, scroll down.
- Select Your account will be closed.
- Enter your e-mail address and password.
- Next, confirm your account ownership by clicking Next.
- Choose a reason for your Skype account to be closed.
- Mark the account for closure by clicking the Mark account for closure button.
- Simply go to http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=523898 to start the process of closing your account via Skype or the Microsoft website.
How to Terminate Your Skype Account
You must also cancel any Skype subscription plans if you wish to deactivate your Skype account. To prevent being charged for a service you don’t use, make sure any recurring payments or auto-recharge agreements are deactivated or canceled.
What prompted you to delete your Skype account? Please let us know what you think in the comments area below.
TechRepublic has a helpful guide to deleting Skype from both your computer and your mobile device. If you’ve never used Skype or need to uninstall it, this guide will show you how.. Read more about does deleting skype account delete messages and let us know what you think.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does deleting Skype account delete Microsoft account?
No, deleting your Skype account will not delete your Microsoft account.
How can I delete my Skype account only?
Skype has a feature that allows you to delete your account. You can find it by clicking on the cog in the top right corner of the window and selecting Account Settings.
How do I unlink Skype from Microsoft account?
To unlink Skype from Microsoft account, you will need to sign out of your Microsoft account. Then, go to the settings for Skype on your device and click Sign Out.
This article broadly covered the following related topics:
- how to delete skype account
- how to delete skype account on iphone
- skype account
- delete microsoft account
- delete skype account